Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Shattered Silence by Margaret Daley

Shattered Silence is the second book in a series, but I think it stood alone just fine. I have not read the first book in this series. Cody Jackson is a Ranger, as in Texas Ranger. He works on murders and helps solve cases. His life is thrown for a bit of a loop when his ex-wife dies and now it falls to him to raise his rather estranged 15 year old son. Because of his former wife Cody hasn't bonded with anyone else, until now. Now he has an attraction to the detective he is working with, Liliana. 

Frankly, Cody hasn't healed, he is a pretty good mess himself. His son has had a horrible time of it. His step-father hasn't been ideal by a long shot and now Kyle is angry. He is angry at his Mom, his Dad, and at God.
They are both hurt and wounded and to top that off Cody and Liliana are tracking a serial killer. I'd say Cody has a bit of stress going on in his life! 

Shattered Silence has romance, but it also has mystery and crime solving. What makes it stand out a bit more is the underlying tug of healing, forgiveness, being a single parent, human trafficking abuse, and violence are brought up and their results are clearly shown. The abuse issues were not so harsh as to drive off more gentle readers, but strong enough to hopefully open a few eyes and get people thinking and praying. 


This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Shattered Silence
Abingdon Press (September 2012)
Margaret Daley

Margaret Daley is an award winning, multi-published author in the romance genre. One of her romantic suspense books, Hearts on the Line, won the American Christian Fiction Writers’ Book of the Year Contest. Recently she has won the Golden Quill Contest, FHL’s Inspirational Readers’ Choice Contest, Winter Rose Contest, Holt Medallion and the Barclay Gold Contest. She wrote for various secular publishers before the Lord led her to the Christian romance market. She currently writes inspirational romance and romantic suspense books for the Steeple Hill Love Inspired lines, romantic suspense for Abingdon Press and historical romance for Summerside Press. She has sold eighty-three books to date.

Margaret is currently the President for American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), an organization of over 2300 members. She was one of the founding members of the first ACFW local chapter, WIN in Oklahoma. She has taught numerous classes for online groups, ACFW and RWA chapters. She enjoys mentoring other authors.

Until she retired a few years ago, she was a teacher of students with special needs for twenty-seven years and volunteered with Special Olympics as a coach. She currently is on the Outreach committee at her church, working on several projects in her community as well as serving on her church’s vestry.

On a more personal note, she has been married for over forty years to Mike and has one son and four granddaughters. She treasures her time with her family and friends.

A serial killer is targeting illegal aliens in southern Texas. Texas Ranger Cody Jackson is paired with a local police officer, Liliana Rodriguez, to investigate the murders.

While the case brings Cody and Liliana ever closer, the tension between Americans and Mexican Americans heightens. As Cody and Liliana race to discover who is behind the murders and bring peace to the area, what they uncover isn't what they expected. Will Cody and Liliana's faith and love be strong enough to survive the storm of violence?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Shattered Silence, go HERE.

Margaret can be reached through the Contact link on her Website.

The book link is: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1426714297 

No comments: